in which I present my paper to AoIR

Friday October 10 I presented my paper on Anonymous (http://www.lisamcpherson.org/pc.htm) to the Association of Internet Researchers conference in Milwaukee.  There were 4 presenters in our session and we each had 15 minutes to present and 5 minutes of questions from the audience.  About 25 people were in our session, which I thought was pretty good.  I basically summarized Project Chanology history, showed my comparison to the Civil Rights movement, and listed questions that arose from my study.  I used powerpoint and tried to inject some Anonymous-style graphics and humor.

There were a few presentations about online activism during the conference.  I learned a lot and met very nice people.  It made me wonder if I really want to get into the academic field, however.  The presentations were often, to me, of minutely useful topics, and it seems that the goal of academics is “what can we talk about next” rather than “what can we accomplish next.”  I guess it’s their role to be thinkers more than doers, so I shouldn’t complain.

http://www.aoir.org

2 Responses to “in which I present my paper to AoIR”

  1. anonymous Says:

    To be a successful academic, you have to aim at being the first to accomplish something challenging, which can take years or a lifetime. Minutely useful papers are misleading because only new things will be accepted to be published, and there aren’t usually that much. But you can survive by being opportunists, publishing something minor here and there to show that you are doing some work.

  2. Jeff Says:

    Wow, a fellow cynic.

Leave a Reply

